Who can apply?

In accordance with the Erasmus Mundus scheme, different scholarships are available for different Target Groups and Mobility Types and with specific eligibility conditions. Follow the instructions below to check:

1)     if you meet the general eligibility conditions;

2)     what Target Group you belong to;

3)     what Mobility Type you can apply for;

4)     if you meet the specific eligibility conditions related to your Target group and Mobility type.

Eligibility conditions must be met at the time of application, or at the latest before the start of mobility.

What are the general eligibility conditions?


You must be national of India

12-month rule

You must not have resided nor have carried out your main activity (studies, work, etc) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in any of the eligible European countries at the time of submitting your application to the partnership.

IMPORTANT: This rule does not apply to Staff and to TG 3 candidates.

Other scholarships

You must not have already benefited from a scholarship for the same type of mobility under an Erasmus Mundus Action 2 project.

You cannot benefit from more than one mobility activity within the same project.

 Mobility flow

Indian nationals may carry out mobilities in Europe.

Mobilities cannot take place between the European, nor between Indian institutions involved in the partnership.


Which Target Group do you belong to?

You are Target Group 1 (TG1) if you are enrolled or employed in one of the Partner Universities listed here Partnership;

You are Target Group 2 (TG2)if:

-          you are enrolled or employed in an Indian University that is NOT a Partner University listed here Partnership;
-          you are enrolled or employed in an Indian University that is an Associate listed here Partnership;
-          you obtained a University degree title from an Indian University.

You are Target Group 3 (TG3) if you are an Indian National in particularly vulnerable situations for social or political reasons.

What Type of mobility you can apply for?


  • if you belong to TG1 you can ONLY apply for exchange programmes and you must keep the TG1 status for the whole duration of the mobility;
  • if you belong to TG2 you can ONLY apply for full degree programmes;
  • if you belong to TG3 you can ONLY apply for full degree programmes at Master and Doctorate level and you can apply for both exchange and full degree programmes at Undergraduate level.

You can apply for an Undergraduate programme if:
-         you are attending a first cycle Higher education programme (Bachelor or equivalent);
-         you obtained a diploma for accessing university studies.

You can apply for a Master programme if:
-         you are attending a second cycle Higher education programme (Master or equivalent);
-         you have completed three years of university education or you already obtained a Bachelor degree from an Indian University.

You can apply for a Doctorate programme if:
-         you are attending a doctorate programme;
-         you already obtained a Master degree from an indian University.

You can apply for a Post-doctorate programme if you obtained a doctorate degree from an Indian University and you would like to continue your study/research abroad.
You can apply for a Staff programme if you are working as Academic or Administrative staff in an Indian university. 

IMPORTANT: Check the Mobility Type Guide designed to help you identify your Target Group and MobilityType!!

MOBILITY TYPE GUIDE application/pdf (17.36 kB)

What are the specific eligibility conditions?

The specific eligibility conditions for each Target Group and Mobility Type are listed in the Call for Applications. Check it carefully before applying!